Posted by: Kaushik | January 27, 2009

Bombay on the weekend

So, Bombay beckoned for the not-so-long Republic Day long weekend as I had to get back and work on Republic Day. I got in on a Friday night and I met my mum at the airport who came up from Bangalore as well. As we went past the Vakola and Santacruz flyovers, I got that familiar Janaury feeling of Bombay. The time after I’d go for MI and then go home and come back in January to finish the last term at Xavier’s. I wound up going to my uncle’s house in Prabhadevi for dinner. It was a nice sea change from cold weather to having cold showers 🙂 But, an extrememly nice dinner of kababs, chicken biryani and scotch topped up with paan from Mucchad’s paan in Breach Candy.

On Saturday, I stepped out to meet TJ and Sups for lunch and I for one couldn’t believe that it had been one and a half years almost since I saw them last. We finally decided to go to Moshe’s in Cuffe Parade which was right opposite the location of a malaria project I’d done in the slums in my first year. Of a year of ingrown toenails and rides on the 138 double decker. I digress 🙂 Moshe’s was great. The food was amazing and all in all, a good time was had. We then set off to Xavier’s and have a look in on the old alma mater. With the college being spruced up for Jan fest, the basketball court was a long row of white. The college had undergone some changes since I last came three years ago. One floor of the hostel had given way to more classrooms. The mess had moved out of the hostel to the canteen area and a language lab had been opened in the hostel as well. I met my old hostel warden and a couple of old teachers which was rather nice as well. But, it just felt like old times, sitting and chilling on the hostel steps with the usual suspects. We then caught up with Viren and Ashima who I hadn’t seen since college and we ended up going to Marine Drive where we sat till 7 and I was again reminded of the many evenings we’d spend there sitting and watching the world go by and trying to make sense of our lives.

Sunday was pretty much spent in a similar vein. I went to Siddhivinayak in the morning with my mum.  Sunday lunch was spent with the same company as Saturday, albeit at All Stir Fy. We then walked across to check out the Strand Book Fair, which was alright. I picked up ‘Untouchables’ by Narendra Jadhav, Neil Simon’s memoirs and a lovely edition of Michael Chabon’s ‘The Yiddish Policemen’s Union’ which had Sups wailing about the lovely editions of Chabon’s books that I have(she did gift me Kavalier and Clay:)) Malavika and Viren joined us and we all hug out for a little more time. The evening was topped off with nachos and onion rings at New Yorkers, a overdosed food weekend clearly. I went to my aunt’s house in the evening and spent the night watching ‘Dostana’ which was enjoyable for the first half and dragged a little late on. But, all in all a relaxed and fulfilling weekend..

Responses

  1. sounds like fun 🙂

  2. This is Anansi.. thanks for dropping by and read on! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

