Posted by: Kaushik | December 10, 2008

Of Sundays past

This past Sunday I went to the American Diner for breakfast after a night of merry with friends the previous night. Well, eating breakfast at 2 in the afternoon probably doesn’t count as breakfast. Ah, well.

But, as we sat around and lazed for a bit on the IHC lawns, we saw families lazily brunching on a Sunday. Women bejewelled to the nines and touched up rather fancily for weddings taking place there. But, after a long time it felt like a lazy Sunday and it reminded me of Sundays in Bangalore as a kid.

Sundays used to be a ritual for the family. Usually, my dad would ensure that he’d be back in time to play cricket on Sunday morning with my brother and me. He used to travel a fair bit then. Just when we used to think we’d get the hang of batting against him, he’d thrown in a fast seam up or a googly. When we used to live in ‘Vaishali’ our old house, we had a huge lawn. My parents would sit out by the front door on these cute little deck chairs and my dad would throw us catches. We’d developed certain traits by then. My brother would dive after taking a catch. I, on the other hand got the nickname ‘Goldfish’ as I’d keep my mouth wide open when I’d go for catches. Helps now when you need to glug beer fast πŸ™‚

After that we’d end up going to Jayanagar 4th block to the market to generally look around and sometimes buy vegetables. We’d get to eat popcorn at the vending machine near the old Dollops counter in the market. We were never allowed to eat cotton candy for hygienic reasons though. Sometimes, after much relenting we were also allowed dry jamuns from Blue Bell sweets. We’d get our stationery in the market as well on the eve of tests and the start of school.

But this routine died a natural death as we grew older and we had more pressing concerns like board exams and tuitions. Not to mention increased urbanisation also meant that we were eager to explore new avenues and not merely stay closeted in the old.

Watching all the families on Sunday, I was reminded of those many Sundays I spent with my family as a kid and can’t help but feel content in their memory.

Responses

  1. Aww, I loved this post. Yeah Sundays mean such different things to us now huh?

    I too miss the good ol Sundays at home- from gardening to just evening chai together or going crazy on the bicycle. Ah well πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks

    Yeah, Sundays have completely changed. Going crazy on the bicycle used to be another thing. Thought i’d save it for another post πŸ™‚

  3. lovely post…

  4. @ Anansi- Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

