Posted by: Kaushik | January 26, 2007

Friday night lights

It’s Friday night. No special laydee friends as my cousin puts it to spend it with . It was a flatmate’s birthday but somehow I decided that I wasn’t going to be great company and that I’d prefer to be alone. So, that decided I decided to do something constructive with my time and went ahead and made potato curry and a salad with olives and the ever omnipresent rice with my meal. My mummy would be proud that I’m cooking on an average 4 dinners every week. People change and the wannabe chef in me has decided to manifest itself aggressively by the looks of it.

This week has been a good one so far with some good news. There has been the bad also but things are starting to look up. A Friday night with a beer in one hand and a ladle in another frying potatoes is a vision I didn’t expect to see soon. But, you make do and the upside is a couple of my flatmates did like the potato curry. There are plans to have an Indian dinner soon where I might make a contribution. The upside is I might soon turn to be a dab-hand in the kitchen and impress the right people!

One of my flatmates has been a lifesaver of sorts providing me with earphones to ensure that I’m not music starved. Moving purposefully through the roads of the Lawn-don and negotiating the central walkway of the LSE I know I’m just another face in the crowd, a passing image and a statistic that noone cares about lost in my music. The feeling has taken time to grow used to but I’m feeling more comfortable as the days go by spending time by myself and being self-reliant.

On a different note,Tool does have weird lyrics and freaky videos but despite all that some of their songs contain some sheer lucidity. Lines capture one’s imagination like this one:

‘With my feet upon the ground I lose myself
between the sounds and open wide to suck it in,
I feel it move across my skin.
I’m reaching up and reaching out,
I’m reaching for the random or what ever will bewilder me.

It’s just me and the bright lights on a Friday in a foreign city. It’s strangely comforting.

Leave a Reply

Categories

