Posted by: Kaushik | January 7, 2007

Thoughts on term

So, we’re into the first week of January and the Lent term is about to start. Presentations to be made and essays to be handed in, the term promises to be a full one. I haven’t yet decided on a topic for my thesis yet. Before I came here I was quite sure I wanted to do a thesis relating to international trade, but I’m not so sure now. I think debt crises or an issue related to international monetary matters would be equally interesting.  I never expected a topic like Politics of International Money to interest me so but it factors in a lot of economic history which while relevant to today is also extremely interesting because I’m a bit of a history and politics buff myself.

The seminars at the LSE have been nothing but mind blowing and most of my classmates are in their mid 20’s with a wealth of experience and tons of trade and international affairs experience. The lecturers also are extremely good at stimulating discussion and have a wealth of information of their own to add as well which makes for a great melange. The other thing has been getting used to the essay system and critiquing arguments. This is also the first time that I’ve been exposed to the Harvard system of referencing as my previous papers and projects never had any footnotes or followed a system in particular. So, the first term has been about adapting and I’m hoping to kick it up a notch this term.

I do hope to continue posts as often as possible. One, among my many new year’s resolutions is to keep this blog active. I’m hoping I can stick to it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

