Posted by: Kaushik | December 31, 2006

Songs to Live and Die by

Ever trawl through your playlist on ITunes and click on a particular number and bring back so many memories in one instant? The last few times that I have spent getting drunk( not a lot believe me) have been spent headbanging to various classics which just make you happy listening to them. AC-DC’s ‘Back in Black’, ‘Whole Lotta Love’ by Led Zeppelin, ‘Sympathy for the Devil’ by the Rolling Stones, ‘What’s Going On’ by Marvin Gaye and Bob Dylan’s ‘Hurricane’ which I listened to only because it used to be one of Menon’s favourites in hostel. But it’s nice to listen to all these songs again. It makes me want to grip the imaginary mic in my hand harder and sing louder.

On a totally unconnected note, go out and watch High Fidelity . It’s a nice quirky movie about a guy who makes his top 5 breakups like a countdown list and relives them and tries to remedy things with his latest amour. It’s got some brilliant music and I plan to get my hands on the soundtrack really soon if possible. I think this line captures the movie brilliantly.

‘ What came first, the music or the misery? People worry about kids playing with guns, or watching violent videos, that some sort of culture of violence will take them over. Nobody worries about kids listening to thousands, literally thousands of songs about heartbreak, rejection, pain, misery and loss. Did I listen to pop music because I was miserable? Or was I miserable because I listened to pop music?’

Otherwise, a happy New Year to you all. Make merry and may you drink different types of beer, wine and dine exotic women and drive fancy cars. Well, for me it’ll be the first only. But, here’s to hope.

Responses

  1. lol..hope u gave the women the right directions ;p


Leave a Reply

Categories

